Home > Metablogging > A new (to me) scam

A new (to me) scam

June 30th, 2005

I just got a letter on impressive looking letterhead, from Domain Registry of America, offering to renew my domain name “johnquiggin.info” at fairly exorbitant rates. I don’t actually have this domain: out of a frivolous desire to be a dotcommer, I chose “johnquiggin.com”, rather than the more appropriate “johnquiggin.net” when I got my own domain from Dotster.

This looked like an Internet version of the old subscription invoice scam, and sure enough, it was. I was happy to find that one practitioner of this scam has been nailed in Canada

These guys give what looks like a physical address at 189 Queen St., Suite 209, Melbourne, so I’ve written to Consumer Affairs in Victoria, suggesting a visit.

Categories: Metablogging Tags:
  1. jquiggin
    July 1st, 2005 at 14:17 | #1


  2. July 4th, 2005 at 15:40 | #2

    This has been going around in different forms for at least a couple of years. I received a similar notice during 2003 and I just use fake contact details when registering domains..

  3. July 4th, 2005 at 15:40 | #3

    Whoops, meant to say “…and NOW I just use fake contact details…”.

Comments are closed.