Awards night

July 13th, 2011

We academics love nothing better than to give each other awards. The Australian Conference of Economists is being held in Canberra this week, and the big social event was the conference dinner on Monday night, where blogger-economists were (as usual) well represented when the gongs were handed out. The “Best Young Economist” award (it says something about the pace of academic life that “Young” = “under 40”) previously won by econbloggers Joshua Gans and Paul Frijters, went this time to Andrew Leigh, who left ANU last year to become MP for Fraser in the ACT. Academia’s loss will be the nation’s gain if Andrew gets to exert some influence over public policy.

I also scored, being chosen for the Distinguished Fellow Award. Looking at the list of previous recipients, it’s a big honour to join them and I’m very grateful to my colleagues in the profession, especially since I’ve argued pretty vigorously with most of them at one time or another. The economics profession has its problems (as I argued in Zombie Economics, we haven’t been too good at learning the lessons of the Global Financial Crisis), but all things considered, it has been a force for good in Australian public policy debates.

  1. John Quiggin
    July 13th, 2011 at 10:14 | #1

    Before anyone asks, there is no award for “Undistinguished Fellow”

  2. Freelander
    July 13th, 2011 at 10:19 | #2


  3. Rob
    July 13th, 2011 at 10:54 | #3

    Congratulations to my favorite blogger!

  4. fred
    July 13th, 2011 at 11:40 | #4


    Not so sure about your last phrase tho’, one of the reasons I read your work is because you are the exception rather than the norm.

  5. Uncle Milton
    July 13th, 2011 at 11:55 | #5

    Congratulations on the award. I thought for a sec you might be the youngest to get it, but I believe Adrian Pagan beat you by a couple of years. In any case, it will be hard for you to keep the mantle of the enfant terrible of Australian economics now that you’re a Distinguished Fellow.

    With which of the previous DFs have you argued the most? (I’ve got my hunches.)

  6. may
    July 13th, 2011 at 12:37 | #6

    @John Quiggin

    why not?

    easy to think of a whole ream of contenders.(fellows and fellowettes)

    1st place —the whiner is–insert expletive deleted here.

    then there are the “runners down”.

    and then the “unfairest and worst”.

    could be fun.

    apologies–small mind in overdrive.

  7. frankis
    July 13th, 2011 at 14:03 | #7

    Very well-deserved, congratulations!

  8. July 13th, 2011 at 15:20 | #8

    Well done, JQ. Congratulations.

  9. John Quiggin
    July 13th, 2011 at 16:57 | #9

    Uncle M, while I’ve had friendly (and, more rarely, acrimonious) disagreements with quite a few DFs, I wasn’t referring to them specifically, rather to my colleagues in general who have given me this honour.

    Of the previous DFs, the one I argued with most, and most productively, was Fred Gruen. He was a true ornament to the profession.

  10. Ernestine Gross
    July 14th, 2011 at 12:53 | #10

    Congratulations, JQ.

    Despite all efforts in some segments of academia related to economics, albeit only tangentially, to redefine academic values, the quality of your award, in terms of these values, has survived. Thank you for your work.

    Incidentally, what you call ‘left’ looks like ‘centre’ to me.

  11. Jim Birch
    July 14th, 2011 at 16:39 | #11

    Congratulations, and personal thanks for playing a significant part in my limited economics education.

  12. Jill Rush
    July 14th, 2011 at 20:07 | #12

    Congratulations on your award – not so easily won.

  13. Jarrah
    July 18th, 2011 at 00:03 | #13

    Belated congratulations on the award (excuse – I’ve been overseas), but I have to admit I’m waiting for the paperback of your book before purchasing.

Comments are closed.